Filipino Pride in The Internationals 2018

The Rogers Arena in Vancouver, Canada isnt just another place for DotA2 fans. On the 20th to the 25th of August, sixteen Dota2 pro teams will be battling their way to the top for a slice of the 24 million US Dollar prizepool and the title of becoming The International 2018 DotA 2 Champion.


As the main event of one of the most anticipated event in esports draw nearer, here’s a bit of background about the Filipinos who’ll represent our country’s flag in the tournament.



8 Filipinos, 3 Teams, 1 Nation


Carlo “Kuku” Palad, Marc “Raven” Fausto and Sam “Sam_H” Hidalgo
TNC Predator is a team which, without a doubt, has proven themselves worthy to be in the pro scene after defeating two-time Major Champions OG in TI6.


Timothy “Tims” Randrup
After joining in 2016, Tims has been consistent in TNC’s roster and placed 1st in the World Electronic Sports Games 2016 and China Top 2017, and placing 2nd in the StarLadder i-League Invitational Season 2.


Armel “Armel” Paul Tabios
After being a successful mid-laner and back-to-back SEA qualifier wins, Armel decided to part with Clutch Gamers and joined TNC Predator early 2018 and proved himself in the world stage.


Michael “ninjaboogie” Ross Jr.
Being one of the most well known DotA 2 teams in the Philippines, Mineski has placed 1st in over 3 tournaments (World Cyber Arena 2017 APAC Qualifier, PGL Open Bucharest, Dota 2 Asia Championships 2018) with ninjaboogie in position 5 support.


Abed Azel “Abed” L. Yusop
Fnatic’s mid-laner became well known through the South-East Asian MMR leaderboards in 2014 with his signature heroes Meepo and Invoker. Abed reached 8000 MMR on the 6th of August, 2016 and 9000 MMR on 19th of March, 2017, becoming the first Filipino to reach the milestone. And on the 25th of June, 2017, he became the first player to reach 10,000 solo MMR.


Djardel Jicko “DJ” B. Mampusti
DJ is one of the earliest pro players in the DotA2 scene and considered one of the best players in his position. Since joining Fnatic back in 2015, the team has placed Top5 in over 8 tournaments.


In the Group Stage of the tournament, 18 teams will go head-to-head against the best teams in the world in a Best of 2 match for the tournament seeding. TNC Predator will be facing Newbee, Vici Gaming, Pain Gaming,, OpTic Gaming, VGJ Storm, Team Serenity and Team Secret. Mineski on the other hand, will go against Invictus Gaming, Winstrike, Evil Geniuses, Fnatic, OG, Team Liquid, VGJ Thunder and PSG.LGD. While Fnatic is up against Team Liquid, VGJ Thunder, Mineski, Invictus Gaming, OG, PSG.LGD, Winstrike and Evil Geniuses.


Though whatever the results may be, Filipino’s can still be proud of how much our country has already achieved, thanks to the these Pinoy blooded professionals who fight and strive to win for the Philippines.


Mabuhay Philippine Esports!

Leave a Reply